Balancing Act.

29 Sep
Life gets crazy. Things may not go as planned. You’re thinking it’s going one way, but it completely goes another direction all together. You weren’t expecting it, nor did you have a back up plan. Sometimes there’s a back up plan if something goes sour, but more often than not I don’t have a second idea. A different way to go about it. Actually, it’s really hard to pick up the pieces and move on. I wish I had a better grasp on it.

When life gets crazy, and everything else goes down the tubes – I try and recenter myself. A few years ago (which doesn’t seem that long ago), I learned the importance of being balanced. I admit, I struggle with keeping everything in balance. Keeping everything (life, work, school, dating, etc) in happy medium. It’s not easy, but is it ever? Back in college, someone (I wish I could thank you) turned me on to a practice that ultimately would change the way I view myself and the world around me.

Yoga. I know it’s been said before, but Yoga changes you. It’s not a religion. It’s a lifestyle, a way of looking at yourself in such a way that you leave all your judgements about yourself at the door. Everything you’re so critical about, you shed. Let it go. Just let it go. In the beginning of my Yoga practices, I felt so critical about myself during practice. I wanted to do the fancy poses. I wanted to get my heels down on the ground in Downward Dog. I wanted to knock Tree Pose out of the water. But I couldn’t. The more I pushed myself for what my body and my mind wasn’t ready for, the more uspset I came.

It’s taught me lessons about myself that I need daily reminders on. You are not meant to be perfect. You aren’t. Why not embrace your “inner sexy” and just be your imperfect self? I wish I could believe it when I remind myself to embrace my inner sexy, but it’s not easy. Everyone is so critical of themselves. You know, the whole – “if I was prettier” or “if I was thinner” casette tape that plays over and over again. It’s a mind game. It’s a game. It’s trickery. Somtimes I’m able to accept my unperfect self. Do I want to be perfect? I do. I struggle with being imperfect. I wish I was X, Y and Z but I’m not. Hate to say it girlfriend, but you’re not going to get there.

You’re imperfect and someone will love you for your flaws. Except, you must love yourself first. Nobody will love you if you don’t love yourself. I struggled with self acceptance for too long, but Yoga reminds me of my purpose of balance and strength. I want to gain balance throughout my life and strength to be completely OK with my imperfections.

Don’t ever let someone else’s standards determine your own inner happiness.

Leave a Reply

