Go Veggie.

2 Oct
I admit, I’ve never been a meat eater. You could say that I’m not really fond of eating my animal friends, and that I’d rather do my part to save the environment and lessen my carbon footprint. I’ve always been the kind of person who love her veggies (brocolli sauteed with garlic is probably my favorite, ever) and fruits than crave a peice of steak. That’s not how my mind works. Naturally when I’m planning my meals, I always think of whole grains, dairy, fruit/proteins and rarely do I remember that I need some kind of protein.

About three years ago, I was a Vegetarian. I loved it because I felt so clean on the insides. It’s a feeling that I can’t really describe, but I was eating the freshest of foods. I wasn’t a strict Vegetarian, but I included fish, dairy and eggs into my diet. I was the ovo-lacto style, which worked out food wise, except I really struggled getting in enough protein. I always read about Vegetarians getting ennough protein from other sources. What other sources? Tofu I can’t do. It’s a texture thing! I love me some cheese and dairy, and almonds are my favorite. At the end of the day, I think it’s being able to mix it up without bordedom. To keep everything nutritionally balanced, because I am picky with foods – being a full time Vegetarian is not a good decision therefore, I’m going to add more meat less meals into my undiet.

Food is fuel, and however I cut it… I need to keep my engine running.

Leave a Reply

