Tomato Cheese Basil Sandwich.

2 Oct
I love cooking. I mean, I really love it, and often turn to my Ellie Krieger for ideas plus nutritional info, but I’d like to think I have enough knowledge from personalized nutritional sessions of my own. But I’m not an expert. I enjoy experimenting in the kitchen, and when I come across something huge, I want to share it!

I’m one to give credit where credit is due, but this amazing and simple sandwich is not mine. My Mum (I’m not British, but this is how I spell it for her) told me about this tomato cheese basil sandwich she makes. It sounded so complicated, but I knew I had to try it. She made it once for me, and I wanted something really yummy and satisfying for lunch. So what did I do? That’s right, attempt to recreate her sandwich.

Tomato Cheese Basil Sandwich.

Using the freshest of ingredients, I started to esemble my sandwich. Except, when it came to the “cooking” part, I realized something very early. I’m not experienced flipping a sandwich. It sounds so easy, but I struggled. Grabbing various cooking utensils, I used a spatula plus tongs to turn it over to cook evenly. The end result? Delicious.

Tomato Cheese and Basil Sandwich
Ingredients
– 2 deli flat whole wheat rolls
– 1 small tomato
– cheese of your choice (I used American)
– Italian seasoning

Directions
1. Take the cheese slices and place onto one side of each deli flat
2. Cut the tomato into thin to medium slices put on both sides (sandwich it)
3. Sprinkle a dash of Italian/basil seasoning onto the deli flat
4. Put a splash of EVOO onto the pan on a low heat, and toast until light brown

It’s quick, simple and nutritious. Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Tomato Cheese Basil Sandwich.”

  1. agirlandhermutt October 2, 2010 at 3:59 pm #

    Looks good! Nice work!

    • Cristina October 2, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

      @agirlandhermutt,

      Thank you! Figuring out how to get the photo posted the way I wanted was a bit of a challenge. I’m using flickr to share them, and my iPhone 4 was the camera. It works, and if I run into any issues, I might have to change where/who my photos are hosted by. So far so good, and this sandwhich is McDreamy!

Leave a Reply

