Baby, It’s Cold Outside.

26 Dec
I’m a runner. I love running. I used to think “I can’t run outside because it’s cold outside”. It’s funny, I found myself making excuses why I couldn’t and then realized, I had more reason to, with the right mental attitude instead of talking myself out of it. Except, little did I realize… that not only is it important to be mentally focused and physically in the moment, but to be layered up appropriately.

Yes, were in a blizzard warning. Yes, we are under a state of emergency. But, I found myself feeling inspired because well, I love running, and I find running in the snow exhiliarating. As a bonus, I was itching to try out my new dubbed “Winter” running gear. In times before, I wasn’t sure what to wear. Thinking and knowing I needed to layer up, but the questions of what to wear always swirled around. Except, I think I finally got it right this time.

winterlayers

Let it be known, it was 23ºF at the start of my run. To the best of my ability, here’s what I’ve discovered that could somehow be useful for your colder temperature runs, whereever you are. I always start with a base layer. I’m wearing my Lululemon Run Swiftly Tech long sleeved shirt. I love this top because it’s form fitting, and I’m a big fan of thumbholes. It’s one of my favorites. Because it’s cold outside, I wore a second layer over my long sleeved top. It’s a lightweight running jacket (can’t remember the name of it). No matter what temperature, I always wear a running jacket of some kind. Today, I decided to try out my Athleta Interval Jacket. Overall, I felt really warm.

Next up, bottoms. It does matter. I used to run in Yoga bottoms, which left me nothing but cold on the bottom. Speaking of Athleta, I was given a pair of leggins that are brushed on the inside. Don’t knock it until you try it, but they are amazingly warm and comfortable. As you can see, I’m wearing argyle socks. I don’t care that they don’t match my outfit, but hey sometimes you want to get a little funky with running.

brushedpants

From trial and error, don’t forget the neck! Protect it. If I keep everything else toasty warm and forget the neck, I’m forgetting something huge just as if I forgot gloves. I really can’t see myself running with a scarf, so instead I use a neck warmer. Mine is from Lululemon, and I can cinch it at the sides to snug it really tight around my neck, or keep it nice and loose.

And.. here I am, post run…. and not as frosty as I would of thought.

outside-run

Now… it’s snowing like crazy, but I got in two miles so I did it.

2 Responses to “Baby, It’s Cold Outside.”

  1. Kali December 26, 2010 at 5:50 pm #

    I love it! Yay for winter running 🙂

    • Cristina December 26, 2010 at 5:52 pm #

      @Kali,

      I thought a post on “what to wear” may be helpful for some runners.

Leave a Reply

