Hot and Cold.

15 Jan
Mother Nature brought presents. Two feet of a snow and a cold.

Needless to say, I’m still not feeling that awesome. I haven’t been eating that much the past few days. Except, it was super awesome to score two days off from the snow. The kids in the neighborhood were making snow forts and snowmen in their front yards. I wanted to be out there, sleeding and pretending I was five. Instead, I spent a full day in bed sleeping.

Now on to the good stuff (or whatever I decided to take photos of). On a positive note, I have been completely caffeine free for nearly a week. Every now and then, I’ll have the craving for a cup of energy, but I know it’s not going to do anything for me, except give me a crash a few hours later. This morning, I visited Starbucks to try their skinny caramel macchiatto.

jan15-breakfast

It was horrible. I added a lot of Splenda to sweeten it up because honestly, the sugar free syrups don’t typically do it for me because they’re so tasteless. It was good to try something new, but if I do order a Starbucks, it’ll be the original drink, but the decaf version.

In case you forgot, we are foodies. During the Winter months, my Mum is always making various soups from scratch. A few days ago, I had a bowl of delicious sausage soup. And, if you’re wondering – I ditched my Vegetarian diet recently (sorry to disappoint). For a sweet treat, I had a few small handfulls of homemade trail mix: peanut M&M’s, regular M&M’s, two kinds of raisins and almonds. It’s so good, see…

jan15-lunch

After lunch, I decided to visit REI. The nearest location is right down the street, and even though I’ve driven past it dozens of times, I’ve never been inside. Let me tell you, I was a kid in a candy store. Oh, it was heaven! I found myself browsing the various fueling gels, and CamelBak’s. In fact, I had to replace my first CamelBak Better Bottle, and my outreach to CamelBak through Twitter was a failed mission. I had to replace my bottle because it was leaking, somehow. I also picked up these treats, which I am eager to try.

jan15-fuel

I haven’t experimented with fueling too often, but I thought.. let’s try it! Also, I took some tips from Carrots ‘N Cake. I remember reading that she’s a fan of the GU vanilla bean. I was super psyched to see they carried it. I also picked up some others. There was so much to choose from, and I wish I asked someone who was an experienced runner, of what they like best. In the past, I have used gummy bears, but I didn’t chew them during my run. I was so focused on running that I couldn’t even deal with popping something in my mouth for an energy boost.

Next post up? Pushing beyond your fears.

Leave a Reply

